Following a California vehicle crash, you might be dealing with serious injuries, pain, stress, fear, and trauma. You know you need to file an injury claim to receive a settlement for your damages, but you might not know where to start. To help, here are the basics of California’s car accident laws.
Car Crash Laws in California
Negligence and Fault
The law of negligence states that if someone causes you injury because of carelessness or wrongful behavior, they can be held legally responsible for your damages. You can file a personal injury case against them in order to be monetarily compensated for your experience and losses.
You will need to prove fault in order to win your claim. The more evidence you have that proves fault, the stronger your claim will be.
Minimum Insurance Coverage in California
In California, all drivers must carry insurance by law. There is a minimum amount of coverage that a person must carry. Here are the limits:
- $15,000 minimum coverage for injury or death to one person
- $30,000 minimum coverage for injury or death to more than one person
- $5,000 minimum coverage for property damage
Statute of Limitations
In California, the time limit for filing an auto injury case is two years from the date of the vehicle wreck. You must file your claim within this time frame or you won’t be able to file a case at all.
Call a Lawyer for Help with Your Car Crash Claim
When you’ve been injured in a vehicle crash, you will likely be dealing with a lot of stress, pain, and anguish. Many people find it helpful to hire a lawyer to assist them with their car accident case. Your California car accident attorney can investigate your wreck, gather evidence, put together your claim, and handle the insurance company on your behalf.
Contact Bohn & Fletcher, LLP to talk with a lawyer during a free claim review. Dial 408-279-4222, or visit our website, where you can learn more about the auto wreck claim process in California.